Sign In

Commerce Subcabinet

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Commerce Subcabinet logoEstablished October 1, 2015, the Commerce Subcabinet is comprised of the Secretaries of the Departments of Commerce, Transportation, Labor, Environment, Housing and Community Development, Planning, and the Governor's Office of Small, Minority, & Women Business Affairs. Additional contributing Departments are the Higher Education Commission, Natural Resources, Smart Growth, and the Department of Assessments and Taxation.

The Subcabinet advises the Governor on proposals to enhance the state’s business climate; gathers information the Subcabinet considers necessary to promote its goals; collaborates to facilitate and expedite critical economic development projects in the state; and provides other assistance that may be required to further the goals of the state and enhance its business climate.

Maryland Secretary of Commerce Kelly SchulzChair 

The Subcabinet is chaired by Commerce Secretary Kelly M. Schulz. The Chair convenes monthly meetings and is responsible for the oversight, direction and accountability of the work of the Cabinet. The Chair's office also provides the primary staff for the Subcabinet.​


  • Kelly M. Schulz, Chair, Secretary, Maryland Department of Commerce 
  • Joseph Bartenfelder, Secretary, Department of Agriculture 
  • Greg Slater, Secretary, Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT)
  • Tiffany Robinson, Secretary, Department of Labor
  • Ben Grumbles, Secretary, Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE)
  • Ken Holt, Secretary, Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD)
  • Robert S. McCord, Secretary, Maryland Department of Planning (MDP)​
  • Jimmy Rhee, Special Secretary, Governor's Office of Small, Minority and Women Business Affairs
  • Wendi Peters, Special Secretary, Smart Growth, Maryland Department of Planning
  • Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, Secretary, Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
  • James Fielder, Secretary, Higher Education Commission (MHEC)
  • Michael Higgs, Director, State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT)


Julie W​o​​​​epke​, Executive Director
Maryland Economic Development Commission
Office of the Secretary
Maryland Department of Commerce
401 E. Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202

Meet​ings (via Google Meet)

  • June 7, 2021 - 2-4pm
    Via Google Meet
    Phone Numbers(US)+1 415-849-1023 PIN: 712 481 295#
    Meeting Agenda 
  • August 16, 2021 - 1-3pm
  • October 6, 2021 - 2-4pm
  • December 13, 2021 - 1-3pm

Meeting Archive