Sign In

Advisory Commission on Maryland Alcohol Manufacturing and Promotion

Established in 2022 through the adoption of Senate Bill 698, the Advisory Commission on Maryland Alcohol Manufacturing and Promotion within the Department of Commerce was created as a successor to the Advisory Commission on Maryland Wine and Grape Growing. 

The legislation creates a Maryland Alcohol Manufacturing Promotion Fund (the “Fund”), and requires the Department to award certain grants from the Fund for certain purposes. The Fund will award grants to eligible applicants to: 

  • Foster the creation and expansion of the state’s breweries, distilleries and wineries; 
  • Attract new visitors to the state’s breweries, wineries and distilleries; 
  • Encourage and create incentives for special events to promote state wineries, breweries and distilleries; 
  • Educate the public about alcohol manufacturing in the state, including its rich history; 
  • Support the expansion of minority ownership and participation in the operation of state breweries, wineries and distilleries; and 
  • Research and develop incentives for how to promote use of the state’s agricultural products in the production of the state’s beer, wine, and spirits. 

The Commission will comprise of the following Governor appointees: two members representing breweries; two members of Growers; two representing Wineries; and two members representing Distilleries. Additionally, the Commission include a member representing the University of Maryland College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Secretary of the Department of Commerce or designees; Secretary of the Department of Agriculture or designees; Special Secretary of the Governor’s Office of Small, Minority and Women Business Affairs or designees; one Senate member from the Alcohol and Tobacco Commission; one member appointed by President of the Senate; and one House member appointed by the speaker of the House.  Terms are three years, staggered term dates.  Chair to be appointed by the Governor. 


  • Chair Jaime Windon, Lyon Rum/Windon Distilling
  • Mark Burke, Streetcar 82 Brewing
  • Robert T. Butz, Owner & Founder, Windridge Farm, LLC
  • Joan Cartier, Ph.D., Co-Owner, Links Bridge Vineyard
  • Roy W. Crow, Co-Owner, Crow Vineyard & Winery, LLC
  • Joseph A. Fiola, Ph.D., Principal Agent & Specialist in Viticulture and Small Fruit, University of Maryland
  • Scott Jendrek, Scientist, Project Manager, Master Distiller, Patapsco Distilling Company
  • Kimberly T. Johnson, Co-Owner & Co-Founder, Philosophy Winery
  • Jeffrey Kelly, Maryland Alcohol and Tobacco Commission
  • The Honorable Kris Valderrama, Delegate
  • The Honorable Craig J. Zucker, Senator

Ex Officio: Steve Connelly, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; Kevin Anderson, Secretary of Commerce; Gerald Stinnett, designee of Special Secretary of Small, Minority and Women Business Affairs

Upcoming Meetings

  • April 29, 2024 from 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Maryland Department of Agriculture
50 Harry S. Truman Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401

Past Meetings:


Liz Fitzsimmons 
Managing Director, Office of Tourism and Film
Maryland Department of Commerce
401 E. Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202​