Sign In

Life Sciences Advisory Board

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The LSAB was created by the legislature in 2007 to assist in maintaining Maryland’s preeminence in the life sciences industry. Comprised of 18 members, the Board includes the Secretary of the Maryland Department of Commerce, a representative designated by the Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) and 16 members appointed by the Governor.​


Dr. Jay Perman

Jay A. Perman, MD, became the fifth chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM) in January 2020.  Prior to this appointment, Dr. Perman, a pediatric gastroenterologist, served as president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) for nearly a decade.

As UMB president, Dr. Perman strengthened that institution's ties to the city of Baltimore, growing innovation-based economic development and spearheading programs to improve the health and well-being of UMB's closest neighbors. As chancellor, Dr. Perman has committed to advancing higher education affordability for all students in Maryland. He also plans to build on USM's reputation for educational innovation, particularly in research, economic development, and community engagement.

Dr. Perman first came to UMB in 1999 as chair of the School of Medicine's Department of Pediatrics. He left Baltimore in 2004 for the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, where he was dean and vice president for clinical affairs. Dr. Perman received a Doctor of Medicine Degree with Distinction from Northwestern University. He completed a fellowship in pediatric gastroenterology at Harvard Medical School and at the Children's Hospital Medical Center in Boston.

Standing Members​

  • Kevin Anderson - Secretary, Maryland Department of Commerce
  • Ruchika Nijhara, PhD, MBA - Executive Director, Maryland Stem Cell Research Fund

Appointed Members

  • Vice Chair: Bob Storey - Managing Director, The MVR Company; Managing Director, The LaunchPort™
  • Trushar Agrawal – Sr. Director, Head of Manufacturing, Kite Pharma
  • Richard A. Bendis - President and CEO, BioHealth Innovation Inc.
  • Jesse Christopher, MBA - CEO, Longeviti Neuro Solutions
  • Rebecca Fisher, PhD - Deputy Director, Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs, U.S. Army Medical Research and Development Command
  • Edward E. C. Margerrison, PhD - Director, Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Mark G. Mortenson, JD - CSO, Clene Nanomedicine
  • Deborah D. Ricker, PhD - Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Hood College
  • KaShauna G. Rohlehr, MBA - Director, Strategy and Business Transformation, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Michael Weingarten - Director, SBIR Development Center, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health
  • Ellington West - CEO and Co-founder, Sonavi Labs, Inc.
  • Christy Wyskiel - Senior Advisor to the President and Head of Johns Hopkins Technology Ventures, Johns Hopkins University


Ulyana V. Desiderio, PhD
Director, Life Sciences
Maryland Department of Commerce
401 E. Pratt Street, 17th Floor 
Baltimore, MD 21202


Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, May 20, 2024 at 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
World Trade Center, 401 E. Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202, 17th Fl., Room 1746
  • Wednesday, September 11, 2024 at 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
World Trade Center, 401 E. Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202, 17th Fl., Room 1746
  • Wednesday, December 18, 2024 at 12:00 p.m - 2:00 p.m.
World Trade Center, 401 E. Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21202, 17th Fl., Room 1746

Meeting Archive