Sign In

Maryland Military Installation Council

​​​​​​​​​​The Maryland Military Installation Council identifies the public infrastructure, potential impact on local communities, and support needed for State military installation development and expansion. The Council reviews State policies to support military installations and maximize economic benefits to local communities​.


  • BGen Dean R. Ertwine
  • William B. Morgan, Ph.D
  • Lt. Col. Alfred H. M. Shehab (ret.)
  • Col. Deborah S. Thomas, USAF (ret.); DST Technologies
  • John C. Astle; Senator, MD State Senate, District 30
  • Beverly Byron; Former U.S. House of Representatives; MD, 6th District
  • Michael Colina; President, Resource Management Concepts
  • Alan Imhoff; Retired Adjunct Faculty Frederick Community College
  • David R. Rudolph; Delegate, MD House of Delegates
  • Maj. Gen. James A. Adkins, Adjutant General
  • Benjamin Grumbles, Secretary of the Environment
  • David Craig, Secretary of Planning
  • Pete K. Rahn, Secretary of Transportation
  • George Owings​, Secretary of Veterans Affairs
  • Kenneth Farquar, President, Southern Maryland Navy Alliance
  • Jill McClune, President, Army Alliance
  • Brian Klass, President, Military Alliance Council
  • Richard E. Metrey, President, Maritime Technology Alliance
  • Thomas Gladstone, President, Fort Detrick Alliance
  • M. H. (Jim) Estepp, President, Andrews Business & Community Alliance
  • Steven Tiller, President, Fort Meade Alliance

Staff: Executive Director - Brig. Gen. J. Michael Hayes (ret.); Managing Director, Office of Military Affairs


Lisa Swoboda, ​​Deputy Director, Office of Military Affairs
Maryland Department of Commerce
401 E. Pratt St., 15th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202


There are no scheduled meetings at this time.